Transparency, Integrity and Accountability

Florida Times-Union: Jacksonville City Council committee set to vote on issuing subpoenas in JEA sale probe

JEA Tower

Dear OurJax Members,

On Monday morning, the City Council Special Investigative Committee (SIC) looking into the attempted sale of JEA voted unanimously to ask the Council Rules Committee to issue subpoenas to political consultant Tim Baker and five of his companies.

In an earlier interview with special counsel Steve Busey, Baker refused to turn over requested documents dealing with his relationship with Florida Power & Light and did not answer some questions because of what he called “constitutional overreach.”

Below is a story about the committee vote in this morning’s Florida Times-Union.

We encourage you to contact the SIC members, Chair Brenda Priestly Jackson, Randy Defoor, and Scott Wilson, to let them know you support their action taken yesterday. Please also let members of the Rules Committee know in advance by telephone or email prior to their meeting next Tuesday that you support issuing the subpoenas. Their contact information is below.

OurJax was founded to further transparency, integrity, accountability and local control in our civic affairs, and we will continue to be a voice for these important principles we share.

Sincerely,

Michael J. Ward
President

Florida Times-Union: Jacksonville City Council committee set to vote on issuing subpoenas in JEA sale probe

Special Investigative Committee Members

Brenda Priestly Jackson (Chair)
Phone: (904) 255-5210
Email: BPJackson@coj.net

Randy DeFoor
Phone: (904) 255-5214
Email: RDeFoor@coj.net

Scott Wilson
Phone: (904) 255-5204
Email: SWilson@coj.net

Rules Committee Members

Brenda Priestly Jackson (Chair)
Phone: (904) 255-5210
Email: BPJackson@coj.net

Garrett Dennis (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (904) 255-5209
Email: GarrettD@coj.net

Michael Boylan
Phone: (904) 255-5206
Email: MBoylan@coj.net

Matt Carlucci
Phone: (904) 255-5218
Email: MCarlucci@coj.net

Randy DeFoor
Phone: (904) 255-5214
Email: RDeFoor@coj.net

Sam Newby
Phone: (904) 255-5219
Email: SNewby@coj.net

Ju’Coby Pittman
Phone: (904) 255-5208
Email: JPittman@coj.net

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Treaty Oak

Why Lot J Failed

Dear OurJax Members: The drama over the failed Lot J proposal appears to have ended, due in large part to opposition from engaged taxpayers who wanted their voices

OurJax Lot J letter to Council 1-11-21

Dear City Council President Hazouri and Members of the Council: We expect City Council to vote Tuesday on Ordinance 2020-0648, the current Lot J taxpayer subsidized private development

Jacksonville City

Message of December 14

December 14, 2020 More voices are being raised to question the flawed process and lack of transparency in the City administration’s handling of Lot J. A link is